with light and love

To say I’m behind on posting is such an understatement!  We have had an unwelcome cold/flu/lingering cough visitor in our home for the past 2 months.  All 3 of us have had it.  So please bear with me as I try to catch up. 

Oh how lovely is the evening!   

I had been using Ivie’s violin lesson as a 30 minute knitting of finger puppets.  So when I saw the little lantern children from the Lothians on pinterest, I thought I could adapt my finger puppet to the table doll. 

I walk about with my Lantern

I made one for the Grade 3 class, one for a neighbor and one for us to keep.  I used recycled sweater felt for the capes and it seemed to work fine. 

Glimmer lantern Glimmer! 

I’ve been collecting lantern ideas for months and finally settled on a style that somewhat resembles the tin lantern in Farmer Boy.   Our teacher agreed and so I set about collecting 25 of the bit #10 cans.  Thanks Ava

High and blue the sky

The children drew designs on their cans and then I filled the cans with water and froze them.  The ice provides support and makes it easier and safer to nail holes. 

Rise up oh flame!

It took 2 sessions to get all the lanterns hammered — and the second session was a cold, rainy morning.  But the children persevered and Grade 3 proudly carried their sturdy lanterns through the woods on our Lantern Walk. 

Dona Nobis Pacem

A girl, a doll and their lanterns!   We couldn’t resist making a lantern for the doll as well, but she uses a “pretend” votive candle. 

IMG_0839

© rw 2012

Leave a Reply

